Tuesday, 9 August 2016

The Mōryō's Box 魍魉の匣 (Mōryō no Hako)


Between August and October, 1952, a series of unusual crimes takes place in Musashino and Mitaka: the attempted murder of 14-year-old Kanako Yuzuki, Kanako's abduction from the strange research "hospital" where she was recovering, then abductions of other girls, followed by their severed limbs in custom-fitted boxes being placed in surrounding towns. News editor Morihiko Toriguchi and crime fiction writer Tatsumi Sekiguchi investigate with the help of onmyōji Akihiko Chūzenji. Meanwhile, Tōkyō police detective Shutaro Kiba searches for Kanako, despite Kanagawa police having jurisdiction; and the lawyer for the estate of Kanako's grandfather hires private investigator Reijiro Enokizu to find Kanako, as well. Their investigation uncovers bizarre truths and dark family secrets along the way.

Genre: Horror, Mystery, Supernatural, Thriller, Psychological

Episode: 13 + 1 Special

Original Run
Series: October 7, 2008 – December 30, 2008
Special: May 22, 2009

Live-Action Film: December 22, 2007

1. Lost in Blue                              [Opening]
2. Naked Love                              [Ending]


1. Mouryou no Hako
Published: August 22, 2007 – April 22, 2010
Volume: 5

2. Ubume no Natsu
Published: January 30, 2013 – December 10, 2014
Volume: 4

3. Kyoukotsu no Yume
Published: July 26, 2010 – October 19, 2012
Volume: 5

4. Tesso no Ori
Published: March 17, 2017 – Ongoing

Novel: Mouryou no Hako
Published: January 1995
Volume: 1

Here is the preview:

No comments:

Post a Comment