Tuesday, 15 May 2012

Fafner in the Azure 蒼穹のファフナー (Sōkyū no Fafner)


Tatsumiyajima is the central island in the middle of a small cluster of islands, in a sleepy backwater of the Japanese isles. Not much happens there, and the island's young people go to school knowing that their lives are likely to remain peaceful and undisturbed. Or so they have been taught... but the truth is different. The fate of mankind is on the line, and Tatsumiyajima is the last line of defense against a hostile and incomprehensible enemy. At the center of it all, fighting for Humanity's continued existence, is the giant robot Fafner, the dragon that guards this final treasure of mankind.

Fafner in the Azure: Heaven and Earth 
蒼穹のファフナー Dead Aggressor HEAVEN AND EARTH 
(Sōkyū no Fafner: Dead Aggressor: Heaven and Earth)


Two years after the end of the original Soukyuu no Fafner TV series, Tatsumiya Island and its surviving residents have returned to some semblance of recovery. However, things have become desperate for our hero, Kazuki; nearly blind now, and partially crippled from his battles with the Festum two years earlier, he clings to the promise his fallen friend Soushi made to him to return to the island and set things right again. Kazuki's hopes flare when a lifeform is detected within an unmanned submarine that comes floating into Tatsumiya Bay one night, but the person aboard isn't Soushi; it is a mysterious "boy" named Misao Kurusu who may not be entirely human, and who claims to have been sent by Soushi. With Misao's arrival, hostilities break out anew between the Human Army and the Festum, and the Fafner pilots are thrown into the most desperate battle of their lives--this time, with the fate of TWO races riding on their shoulders.

蒼穹のファフナー RIGHT OF LEFT ~single program~ 
(Sōkyū no Fafner - Single Program - Right of Left- ) 


Yumi and Kyo are children who have been selected to take part in a top secret mission, to be the pilots of the first Fafner combat units; the last chance of survival for the human race. The enemy is ruthless, remorseless and is able to read the minds of humans. Therefore, the details of this mission are kept a secret even from the personnel involved. The young pilots must use all their courage and faith in order to survive and complete their mission or the fate of mankind would be compromised.

Soukyuu no Fafner: Dead Aggressor – Exodus  
苍穹のファフナー Dead Aggressor EXODUS


2150 A.D. The battle with the Festum, the silicon life-forms from distant outer space, had reached a new dimension. The North Polar Meir that was crushed during the First Azure Operation had dispersed its fragments all over the world. They all started activity on their own as independent Meirs. Most of the Meirs harbored hatred towards humanity and challenged a fight, however, a portion of the Festum chose coexistence with mankind. Amongst the crossfire, the Ryugujima island alone disappeared from the forefront of battle and continued its silence. The island had gained a means to converse with the Meir since their encounter with Misao Kurusu two years ago. The children of ALVISS had been searching for a way to understand the enemy as they prepared for battle. And now, once again, further evolution was about to befall the island. A girl that understands the language of the Festum, and a girl protected by a Festum. When the two meet, the doors to a new universe opens.

Genre: Action, Drama, Sci-Fi, Aliens, Alien Invasion, Mecha, 
            Military, Real Robots, Romance

Season 1: 26 episodes + 2 OVA + 1 Movie + 1 Movie
Season 2: 13 episodes + 1 Special + 13 episodes

Original Run
Season 1: July 4, 2004 – December 26, 2004
OVA: November 2, 2005 – January 12, 2006
Dead Aggressor Right of Left: December 29, 2005
Dead Aggressor Heaven and Earth: December 25, 2010
Season 2: January 8, 2015 – April 3, 2015
Special: February 4, 2015
Season 2: October 3 2015 – December 26, 2015 

Soukyuu no Fafner
1. Shangri-La                                                   [Opening]
2. Separation                                              [First Ending]
3. Proof                                                  [Second Ending]
4. Separation (Piano Version)                    [First Ending]
5. Hatenaki Monologue                                     [Insert 1]
6. Terra                                                              [Insert]
7. Flugel                                                            [Insert]
8. Azul                                                               [Insert]
9. Fly Me to the Sky                                           [Insert]
10. Yakusoku                                                     [Insert]

Soukyuu no Fafner Movie:
1. Sayonara no Toki Kurai Hohoen de               [Insert 1]
2. Soukyuu                                                      [Opening]
3. Rikai to Hakai e no Preclude                          [Insert]
4. Fortunes                                                         [Insert]

Soukyuu no Fafner Special:
1. Peace of Mind                                            [Opening]
2. Dead Set                                                    [Insert]

Soukyuu no Fafner Exodus:
1. Exist                                                       [First Opening]
2. An'ya Koro                                              [First Ending]
3. DEAD OR ALIVE                                    [Second Opening]
4. Aisuru Koto                                             [Second Ending]
5. Horizon                                                   [Third Ending]
6. Sonotoki, Soukyuu e                                     [Insert]

Soukyuu no Fafner Exodus Character Song Album
1. Kanon
2. Aoki Lion
3. Checkmate!
4. Go! Go! Saikyou Robo
5. Sincerely
6. Moonflower
7. Sonzai to Mu

Soukyuu no Fafner Exodus Character Song Vol 1.

Soukyuu no Fafner Exodus Character Song Vol 2.
1. Angel Arrow
2. Orange no Kiss

Soukyuu no Fafner Exodus Character Song Vol 3.
1. Philosophia
2. Licht

Soukyuu no Fafner Exodus Blu-ray Box Bonus CD
1. Jutai
2. Magenta
3. Oddesey
4. Rakuen
5. Suisai
6. Manten no Hoshi


1. Fafner: Dead Aggresor
Published: April 27, 2005 – January 27, 2006 
Volume: 2

2. Soukyou no Fafner: Dead Aggresor
Published: September 26, 2014 – Ongoing
Volume: 3

Light Novel: Fafner in the Azure 
Published: January 10, 2005
Volume: 1

Here is the preview:

Soukyuu no Fafner ~Right of Left~:

Soukyuu no Fafner: Dead Aggressor - Heaven & Earth

Soukyuu no Fafner: Dead Aggressor - Exodus

No comments:

Post a Comment